Run sequencer command after continue

Announcements, support questions, and discussion for the Dialogue System.
forrestuv
Posts: 64
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2018 11:28 am

Run sequencer command after continue

Post by forrestuv »

Hi,
I created a custom sequencer command that needs to Fades out, pause conversation, resume it after fade.
How can I:
1)Run sequencer command only AFTER finishing displaying a specific entry (atm it runs it immediately)
2)Pause the conversation (not displaying anything) till I resume it (after my fadeout)

thx
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 21679
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Run sequencer command after continue

Post by Tony Li »

Hi,

> 1)Run sequencer command only AFTER finishing displaying a specific entry (atm it runs it immediately)

If by "AFTER" you mean after the typewriter has finished typing, you can wait for the "Typed" message. Example:

Code: Select all

Fade(out)@Message(Typed)
> 2)Pause the conversation (not displaying anything) till I resume it (after my fadeout)

You could wait for a custom message, or a message sent from the fadeout. Example:

Code: Select all

Fade(out)@Message(Typed);
WaitForMessage(MyMessageToResume)
BTW, you could probably use the built-in Fade() sequencer command for this.

More info about sequences: Cutscene Sequence Syntax
forrestuv
Posts: 64
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2018 11:28 am

Re: Run sequencer command after continue

Post by forrestuv »

Tony Li wrote: Wed Mar 29, 2023 11:59 am If by "AFTER" you mean after the typewriter has finished typing, you can wait for the "Typed" message. Example:
No I mean after the use clicks for going to the next entry, the fade should start without displaying anything.
After the fadein it should display the next entry
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 21679
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Run sequencer command after continue

Post by Tony Li »

Maybe something like this:

fadeOutIn.png
fadeOutIn.png (32.95 KiB) Viewed 839 times
forrestuv
Posts: 64
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2018 11:28 am

Re: Run sequencer command after continue

Post by forrestuv »

what's inside the WaitForClick entry?
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 21679
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Run sequencer command after continue

Post by Tony Li »

I figured that would contain whatever you're doing between the fade out and fade in, and that it waits for the player to click to continue.
forrestuv
Posts: 64
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2018 11:28 am

Re: Run sequencer command after continue

Post by forrestuv »

I did a custom sequencer command that does a FadeOut followed by a FadeIn. (it calls Stop() after it finishes)

I added this inside the blank Entry Sequence

Code: Select all

FadeOutAndIn();
issues:
1)I don't wanna see that blank message box during the fade.
2)After fade has completed, it waits for click. I need it to advance automatically to the next entry.

thx
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 21679
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Run sequencer command after continue

Post by Tony Li »

Hi,

If there's no dialogue text, it won't show a subtitle panel. However, if your dialogue UI has a main dialogue panel, that will still be visible. To hide it, use this sequencer command:

Code: Select all

SetDialoguePanel(false)
To automatically continue after the fade, use the Continue() command. Example, assuming FadeOutAndIn() takes 1 second:

Code: Select all

SetDialoguePanel(false);
FadeOutAndIn();
Continue()@1
If FadeOutAndIn() doesn't finish until it's done fading out and in, you can do this instead:

Code: Select all

SetDialoguePanel(false);
FadeOutAndIn()->Message(Faded);
Continue()@Message(Faded)
This way you don't have to know the duration of the fade ahead of time.
forrestuv
Posts: 64
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2018 11:28 am

Re: Run sequencer command after continue

Post by forrestuv »

Code: Select all

SetDialoguePanel(false);
FadeOutAndIn()->Message(Faded);
Continue()@Message(Faded)
Nothing happens and I get this:
Dialogue System: Can't find any built-in sequencer command named SetDialoguePanel() or a sequencer command component named SequencerCommandSetDialoguePanel()
Dialogue System: Can't find any built-in sequencer command named Continue() or a sequencer command component named SequencerCommandContinue()

What am I missing?
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 21679
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Run sequencer command after continue

Post by Tony Li »

Is there a typo? Here's the reference in the manual: SetDialoguePanel()
Post Reply