Creating a one-frame sequence that also works like the None() sequence.

Announcements, support questions, and discussion for the Dialogue System.
User avatar
KristianGTD
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2022 2:32 am

Creating a one-frame sequence that also works like the None() sequence.

Post by KristianGTD »

Hi!

I'm using a sequence to jump between databases at runtime, and it mostly works except for the fact that an empty dialogue panel is showing up during the jumps. I've tried using my sequence in combination with others like Continue() and HidePanel(0) to try and make the Dialogue System skip showing the (empty) text, just like None() does on its own. At the moment I'm at a loss for what I can do to get the results that I'm looking for, except by modifying the Dialogue System source code directly.

I'm using Dialogue System version 2.2.32.

Previous post, where I talk about the database jumps: http://www.pixelcrushers.com/phpbb/view ... 292#p34292
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 21965
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Creating a one-frame sequence that also works like the None() sequence.

Post by Tony Li »

Hi,

The Dialogue System specially handles "None()" and "Continue()" to know not to show a subtitle panel. What if you register a regular C# method with Lua (see here) and use that in the Script field instead of using a sequencer command? This way you can keep the Sequence at "None()" or "Continue()".
User avatar
KristianGTD
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2022 2:32 am

Re: Creating a one-frame sequence that also works like the None() sequence.

Post by KristianGTD »

As per the thread that I linked, direct lua scripts used in the dialogue node that wants to jump away doesn't work for some reason. It seems to jump away for one message, but returns to the original conversation after one message. This problem was also seen with using a scriptable object event in the node. The only time that script jumping with lua was working was if I was inside of a player node where they select which answer to give, which to me seems like it's a timing issue.

Wouldn't a one-frame sequence event be a pretty standard use-case by the way? Many of the built-in sequences, like the AnimatorPlay() and Audio() sequences are, in a way, one frame, right?
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 21965
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Creating a one-frame sequence that also works like the None() sequence.

Post by Tony Li »

Hi,

Are the dialogue entry's Dialogue Text and Menu Text both blank? If so, that's another case where it shouldn't show the subtitle panel.
User avatar
KristianGTD
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2022 2:32 am

Re: Creating a one-frame sequence that also works like the None() sequence.

Post by KristianGTD »

Tested both with and without dialogue text in the node where I use Goto(). It seems like the chat box opens either way but if there isn't any text it just sits empty for a while, and if there is any text in that node it writes it out before moving on to the jump location.
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 21965
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Creating a one-frame sequence that also works like the None() sequence.

Post by Tony Li »

Would it be possible for you to send a reproduction project to tony (at) pixelcrushers.com?
User avatar
KristianGTD
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2022 2:32 am

Re: Creating a one-frame sequence that also works like the None() sequence.

Post by KristianGTD »

Might be possible, but it would take some time cleaning out what I can send from what I can't. In the meantime, do you have any other advice?
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 21965
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Creating a one-frame sequence that also works like the None() sequence.

Post by Tony Li »

If you can jot down some steps I can follow to reproduce the issue, you won't have to put together a project. At the moment, I'm not sure how to reproduce the issue. I tried this:

1. Created a conversation with an NPC node -> PC node -> NPC node. The NPC nodes have text. The PC's node has no text, and its Sequence is "Audio(foo)" which specifies a nonexistent audio file. So it should end immediately.

2. Configured the Dialogue Manager to show PC subtitles.

3. Set up a scene that starts this conversation using the Basic Standard Dialogue UI.

Both NPC nodes show their text in the NPC subtitle panel. The PC node does not open the PC subtitle panel.
User avatar
KristianGTD
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2022 2:32 am

Re: Creating a one-frame sequence that also works like the None() sequence.

Post by KristianGTD »

We don't use that many PC nodes, they are mostly NPC ones. The place that I seem to always get an empty dialogue seems to be if I jump before any text has been shown.
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 21965
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Creating a one-frame sequence that also works like the None() sequence.

Post by Tony Li »

Is the subtitle panel's Visibility set to Always From Start by any chance?

If not, then I'll either need some reproduction steps or a reproduction project.
Post Reply