Dialogue System: Lua code threw exception 'Code has syntax error

Announcements, support questions, and discussion for the Dialogue System.
Post Reply
eplestudio
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2022 9:11 pm

Dialogue System: Lua code threw exception 'Code has syntax error

Post by eplestudio »

Hi.
I bought a dialog system and I'm creating a conversation scenario for game characters.
However, the following error occurred while making it well, so it cannot be solved.

----------------------------------------------------------------
Dialogue System: Lua code 'return Yeah, I thought that was really weird, too.' threw exception 'Code has syntax errors:
Line 1, Col 45 ',': Failed to parse Letter of Name.
Line 1, Col 45 ',': Failed to parse Name of VarName.
Line 1, Col 45 ',': Failed to parse 'nil' of NilLiteral.
Line 1, Col 45 ',': Failed to parse Text of BoolLiteral.
Line 1, Col 45 ',': Failed to parse '0'...'9' of Digit.
Line 1, Col 45 ',': Failed to parse (Digit)+ of FloatNumber.
Line 1, Col 45 ',': Failed to parse Name of VariableArg.
Line 1, Col 45 ',': Failed to parse firstTerm of OperatorExpr.
Line 1, Col 45 ',': Failed to parse Expr of ExprStmt.
Line 1, Col 45 ',': Failed to parse remaining input.
'
UnityEngine.Debug:LogError (object)
PixelCrushers.DialogueSystem.Lua:RunRaw (string,bool,bool) (at Assets/Plugins/Pixel Crushers/Dialogue System/Scripts/Lua/Lua Wrapper/Lua Interpreter/Lua.cs:228)
PixelCrushers.DialogueSystem.Lua:Run (string,bool,bool) (at Assets/Plugins/Pixel Crushers/Dialogue System/Scripts/Lua/Lua Wrapper/Lua Interpreter/Lua.cs:129)
PixelCrushers.DialogueSystem.Lua:IsTrue (string,bool,bool) (at Assets/Plugins/Pixel Crushers/Dialogue System/Scripts/Lua/Lua Wrapper/Lua Interpreter/Lua.cs:171)
PixelCrushers.DialogueSystem.ConversationModel:EvaluateLinksAtPriority (PixelCrushers.DialogueSystem.ConditionPriority,PixelCrushers.DialogueSystem.DialogueEntry,System.Collections.Generic.List`1<PixelCrushers.DialogueSystem.Response>,System.Collections.Generic.List`1<PixelCrushers.DialogueSystem.Response>,System.Collections.Generic.List`1<PixelCrushers.DialogueSystem.DialogueEntry>,bool) (at Assets/Plugins/Pixel Crushers/Dialogue System/Scripts/MVC/Model/Logic/Model/ConversationModel.cs:398)
PixelCrushers.DialogueSystem.ConversationModel:EvaluateLinks (PixelCrushers.DialogueSystem.DialogueEntry,System.Collections.Generic.List`1<PixelCrushers.DialogueSystem.Response>,System.Collections.Generic.List`1<PixelCrushers.DialogueSystem.Response>,System.Collections.Generic.List`1<PixelCrushers.DialogueSystem.DialogueEntry>,bool) (at Assets/Plugins/Pixel Crushers/Dialogue System/Scripts/MVC/Model/Logic/Model/ConversationModel.cs:378)
PixelCrushers.DialogueSystem.ConversationModel:GetState (PixelCrushers.DialogueSystem.DialogueEntry,bool,bool,bool) (at Assets/Plugins/Pixel Crushers/Dialogue System/Scripts/MVC/Model/Logic/Model/ConversationModel.cs:272)
PixelCrushers.DialogueSystem.ConversationModel:GetState (PixelCrushers.DialogueSystem.DialogueEntry) (at Assets/Plugins/Pixel Crushers/Dialogue System/Scripts/MVC/Model/Logic/Model/ConversationModel.cs:317)
PixelCrushers.DialogueSystem.ConversationController:OnFinishedSubtitle (object,System.EventArgs) (at Assets/Plugins/Pixel Crushers/Dialogue System/Scripts/MVC/Controller/ConversationController.cs:270)
PixelCrushers.DialogueSystem.ConversationView:FinishSubtitle () (at Assets/Plugins/Pixel Crushers/Dialogue System/Scripts/MVC/View/View/ConversationView.cs:428)
PixelCrushers.DialogueSystem.ConversationView:OnFinishedSubtitle () (at Assets/Plugins/Pixel Crushers/Dialogue System/Scripts/MVC/View/View/ConversationView.cs:435)
PixelCrushers.DialogueSystem.Sequencer:FinishSequence () (at Assets/Plugins/Pixel Crushers/Dialogue System/Scripts/MVC/Sequencer/Sequencer.cs:602)
PixelCrushers.DialogueSystem.Sequencer:Update () (at Assets/Plugins/Pixel Crushers/Dialogue System/Scripts/MVC/Sequencer/Sequencer.cs:594)
----------------------------------------------------------------

Just in case I entered the wrong string, I changed the contents of 'Dialogue Text' to '123123' and tried to execute it, but the same error occurs.

How can I fix this error?
eplestudio
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2022 9:11 pm

Re: Dialogue System: Lua code threw exception 'Code has syntax error

Post by eplestudio »

Oh! I found the part where the error occurred!
Not the node at the point of pause, but the next node had the trash value in the 'Conditions' column!
If you have the same problem, check it out! :D
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 21962
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Dialogue System: Lua code threw exception 'Code has syntax error

Post by Tony Li »

I'm glad you found the issue so fast. You beat me to it. :-)
Post Reply