player skips dialogue unintentioanally

Announcements, support questions, and discussion for the Dialogue System.
fkkcloud
Posts: 298
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2020 6:00 am

player skips dialogue unintentioanally

Post by fkkcloud »

Hello,

I am doing an extensive playtesting sessions of my game and a lot of feedback included below.
I skipped a text box without wanting to do so because I pressed it at the same time the box was opening.
Is it possible to prevent below incidents?"

Would there be a way to enable "continue" only when player click on "Continue" when the dialogue showing is finished?

Currently I have it enabled to
> if dialogue is doing its "typewriting fx" -> click -> - then it shows the rest of text -> click(continue) -> next dialogue
(clearly above was not enough)

Any suggestions?
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 21972
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: player skips dialogue unintentioanally

Post by Tony Li »

Hi,

Please back up your project and import this patch:

DS_SubtitlePanelPatch_2022-03-04.unitypackage

You may need to update to the latest Dialogue System version first, depending on which version you're currently using. If you see compiler errors after importing the patch, update to the latest Dialogue System version and the reimport this patch.

It adds a "Block Input Duration" value to the Standard UI Subtitle Panel component. If you set this to a value such as 0.5, the player won't be able to click the continue button for the first 0.5 seconds.
fkkcloud
Posts: 298
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2020 6:00 am

Re: player skips dialogue unintentioanally

Post by fkkcloud »

Hello, It is working quite nicely but sometimes it is trying to call coroutine (I assume its the delay) on inactive panel.
화면 캡처 2022-09-05 005652.png
화면 캡처 2022-09-05 005652.png (54.91 KiB) Viewed 781 times
Could you include a coroutine to check before calling it see if its an inactive object?
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 21972
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: player skips dialogue unintentioanally

Post by Tony Li »

Hi,

What version of the Dialogue System are you using? Can you reproduce this on version 2.2.30?
fkkcloud
Posts: 298
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2020 6:00 am

Re: player skips dialogue unintentioanally

Post by fkkcloud »

It was 2.2.21 with the UnityPackage you sent me last time that gives delay to player's input.
Last edited by fkkcloud on Mon Sep 05, 2022 1:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.
fkkcloud
Posts: 298
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2020 6:00 am

Re: player skips dialogue unintentioanally

Post by fkkcloud »

I updated it to ver 2.2..30 and fixed this line.
화면 캡처 2022-09-05 104700.png
화면 캡처 2022-09-05 104700.png (67.69 KiB) Viewed 768 times
It was line 468 in ver 2.2..21.
In ver 2.2..30, it is in line 474 and added

Code: Select all

if (gameObject.actveInHierarchy)
to fix it but let me know if this could possibly bring other bugs.

THank you-
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 21972
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: player skips dialogue unintentioanally

Post by Tony Li »

Hi,

Change the line to:

Code: Select all

DialogueManager.instance.StartCoroutine(ShowContinueButtonAfterBlockDuration());
This is what's in version 2.2.31, which is releasing later today.
fkkcloud
Posts: 298
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2020 6:00 am

Re: player skips dialogue unintentioanally

Post by fkkcloud »

Could you tell me what will be the difference between

a:

Code: Select all

if (gameObject.activeInHierarchy) StartCoroutine(ShowContinueButtonAfterBlockDuration());
vs

b:

Code: Select all

DialogueManager.instance.StartCoroutine(ShowContinueButtonAfterBlockDuration());
?
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 21972
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: player skips dialogue unintentioanally

Post by Tony Li »

(b) guarantees that it will show the continue button even if the subtitle panel isn't active yet on this frame. (The subtitle panel might become active on this frame right after running this method.)
fkkcloud
Posts: 298
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2020 6:00 am

Re: player skips dialogue unintentioanally

Post by fkkcloud »

Thank you!
Post Reply