Character save at save point
- supadupa64
- Posts: 200
- Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2016 9:40 pm
- Contact:
Re: Character save at save point
Oh yeah sure. I'm using Third Person Controller by OPSIVE.
Game I'm working on:
Website: http://www.RuctionGames.com
Steam: http://store.steampowered.com/app/49682 ... en_Tablet/
Website: http://www.RuctionGames.com
Steam: http://store.steampowered.com/app/49682 ... en_Tablet/
Re: Character save at save point
Sorry, one more question: What version of Third Person Controller? There were a couple important changes in the latest version, and I want to make sure I'm comparing apples to apples.
- supadupa64
- Posts: 200
- Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2016 9:40 pm
- Contact:
Re: Character save at save point
Looks like I'm using 1.2.2. Maybe I should get the latest version though.
Game I'm working on:
Website: http://www.RuctionGames.com
Steam: http://store.steampowered.com/app/49682 ... en_Tablet/
Website: http://www.RuctionGames.com
Steam: http://store.steampowered.com/app/49682 ... en_Tablet/
- supadupa64
- Posts: 200
- Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2016 9:40 pm
- Contact:
Re: Character save at save point
Actually I'm installing TPC v1.3.1 right now.
Game I'm working on:
Website: http://www.RuctionGames.com
Steam: http://store.steampowered.com/app/49682 ... en_Tablet/
Website: http://www.RuctionGames.com
Steam: http://store.steampowered.com/app/49682 ... en_Tablet/
- supadupa64
- Posts: 200
- Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2016 9:40 pm
- Contact:
Re: Character save at save point
Actually there's too many compiler errors. Figures. Guess I gotta go back to 1.2.2. Well, it looks like some of the errors have to do with Dialogue Systems. So maybe take a look at it I guess.
Game I'm working on:
Website: http://www.RuctionGames.com
Steam: http://store.steampowered.com/app/49682 ... en_Tablet/
Website: http://www.RuctionGames.com
Steam: http://store.steampowered.com/app/49682 ... en_Tablet/
Re: Character save at save point
Since you're using Opsive's Third Person Controller, you don't need a Persistent Position Data component. Instead, on the player's Dialogue System Third Person Controller Bridge component, make sure Record Position and Record Current Level are ticked. (And remove the Persistent Position Data. Sorry, I forgot you were using TPC when I initially recommended that.)
This should work in TPC 1.2 or TPC 1.3.
If you tick Debug on the Dialogue System Third Person Controller Bridge component, it will log additional info that you may find helpful. For example, it will tell you when it's saving and loading the TPC player's position.
TPC 1.3 revamped its item system. If you decide to stick with TPC 1.3.x, you'll need to import the Dialogue System's Third Person Controller Support package from version 1.6.2.1+ of the Dialogue System. This makes the Dialogue System integration scripts compatible with TPC 1.3.x. On the "con" side, you may need to update your TPC items, so give them a quick look over. But on the "pro" side, TPC 1.3.1 has some good fixes that are relevant to the Dialogue System:
- [1.3.1] Fixed AllowGameplayInput from not preventing the character from rotating: Without this fix, if the player is running and turning while starting a conversation, the player will continue to run and turn while in the conversation.
- [1.3] Improved the detection for if the character should stop or step if an object is in the way: Generally improves character movement when near obstacles and usables.
This should work in TPC 1.2 or TPC 1.3.
If you tick Debug on the Dialogue System Third Person Controller Bridge component, it will log additional info that you may find helpful. For example, it will tell you when it's saving and loading the TPC player's position.
TPC 1.3 revamped its item system. If you decide to stick with TPC 1.3.x, you'll need to import the Dialogue System's Third Person Controller Support package from version 1.6.2.1+ of the Dialogue System. This makes the Dialogue System integration scripts compatible with TPC 1.3.x. On the "con" side, you may need to update your TPC items, so give them a quick look over. But on the "pro" side, TPC 1.3.1 has some good fixes that are relevant to the Dialogue System:
- [1.3.1] Fixed AllowGameplayInput from not preventing the character from rotating: Without this fix, if the player is running and turning while starting a conversation, the player will continue to run and turn while in the conversation.
- [1.3] Improved the detection for if the character should stop or step if an object is in the way: Generally improves character movement when near obstacles and usables.
- supadupa64
- Posts: 200
- Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2016 9:40 pm
- Contact:
Re: Character save at save point
Ok, so I removed the persistent position data component. But I already had record position and record current level ticked previously. So now it's back to where I started. Although everything works except the very first time a game is loaded, it sends the player to start of game spawn location. Every load after that works and sends the player to the last location when saved.
Game I'm working on:
Website: http://www.RuctionGames.com
Steam: http://store.steampowered.com/app/49682 ... en_Tablet/
Website: http://www.RuctionGames.com
Steam: http://store.steampowered.com/app/49682 ... en_Tablet/
Re: Character save at save point
Is anything reported in the Console?
Would it be possible for you to send a reproduction project to tony (at) pixelcrushers.com? I'm not sure how to reproduce the problem otherwise. Here's what I tested, which I realize is slightly different from your situation, but it works:
1. In a new Unity 5.3.4 project, imported:
3. Added the Dialogue System Menus > Example > Start scene to the project's Build Settings as scene 0.
4. Added the Third Person Controller Example scene to the Build Settings as scene 1.
5. Played the Start scene, and clicked the Start button.
6. Moved around. Pressed Escape to open the pause menu. Saved a game.
7. Pressed Stop.
8. Pressed Start, and clicked the Continue button. Doug (the player character) started in the place where I saved.
Would it be possible for you to send a reproduction project to tony (at) pixelcrushers.com? I'm not sure how to reproduce the problem otherwise. Here's what I tested, which I realize is slightly different from your situation, but it works:
1. In a new Unity 5.3.4 project, imported:
- Third Person Controller 1.3.1
- Dialogue System 1.6.5
- Dialogue System's Third Person Controller Support package
- Unity's Game Jam Menu Template
- Dialogue System Menus Template 2016-06-20
3. Added the Dialogue System Menus > Example > Start scene to the project's Build Settings as scene 0.
4. Added the Third Person Controller Example scene to the Build Settings as scene 1.
5. Played the Start scene, and clicked the Start button.
6. Moved around. Pressed Escape to open the pause menu. Saved a game.
7. Pressed Stop.
8. Pressed Start, and clicked the Continue button. Doug (the player character) started in the place where I saved.
- supadupa64
- Posts: 200
- Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2016 9:40 pm
- Contact:
Re: Character save at save point
You saying you want a playable version of the game?
Game I'm working on:
Website: http://www.RuctionGames.com
Steam: http://store.steampowered.com/app/49682 ... en_Tablet/
Website: http://www.RuctionGames.com
Steam: http://store.steampowered.com/app/49682 ... en_Tablet/
Re: Character save at save point
A copy of the source project would let me load it in Unity and figure out what's going on. Unfortunately I'm traveling this week and won't be able to use Unity until next Saturday.
If you'd still like to send a copy of your project, zip up the Assets and ProjectSettings folders, and let me know which version of Unity to use.
Another approach would be to try the steps I listed above in a new project. If you can confirm that this works for you, you can compare it to your project to see what's different that's causing the issue.
If you'd still like to send a copy of your project, zip up the Assets and ProjectSettings folders, and let me know which version of Unity to use.
Another approach would be to try the steps I listed above in a new project. If you can confirm that this works for you, you can compare it to your project to see what's different that's causing the issue.