Integrate Dialogue System WIth Starter Assets Third Person Controller

Announcements, support questions, and discussion for the Dialogue System.
Post Reply
Jat_Hero
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun May 01, 2022 5:26 am

Integrate Dialogue System WIth Starter Assets Third Person Controller

Post by Jat_Hero »

Hi, newbie here.

Sorry for the noob question.

How to integrate dialogue system with starter assets third person controller?

I didn't find a way to register new input system controller. It seems a liitle bit different with the tutorial.

Thanks in advance.
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 21977
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Integrate Dialogue System WIth Starter Assets Third Person Controller

Post by Tony Li »

Hi,

Please see how another user integrated the Dialogue System with the Starter Assets in this post. You can also watch the Input System Tutorial and read about the Dialogue System's Input System integration in Plugins / Pixel Crushers / Common / Documentation / Input_Device_Manager_Manual.pdf.
Jat_Hero
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun May 01, 2022 5:26 am

Re: Integrate Dialogue System WIth Starter Assets Third Person Controller

Post by Jat_Hero »

Works perfectly with both gamepad and keyboard& mouse. :lol:

Did a little bit tweaking on DemoRegistrationInput.cs, then put it on Dialogue Manager.

Many thanks Tony.

Right now I'm trying to replicate demoscene using starter asset input as part of learning. Maybe I'll keep bothering you again later.
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 21977
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Integrate Dialogue System WIth Starter Assets Third Person Controller

Post by Tony Li »

Sounds good -- ask away if any questions come up.
Jat_Hero
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun May 01, 2022 5:26 am

Re: Integrate Dialogue System WIth Starter Assets Third Person Controller

Post by Jat_Hero »

I did some experiment on demoscene2. I set enemies to inactive at first. When player accepted Sergeant Graves quest, I set the enemies active again using add scene event.

But, when I save / load game or transition to demoscene1 then come back to demoscene2, the enemies become inactive again. How to fix this?

Second question, how to navigate demo menu using gamepad? Or do I need to use my customize game menu?

Thanks.
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 21977
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Integrate Dialogue System WIth Starter Assets Third Person Controller

Post by Tony Li »

Jat_Hero wrote: Wed May 04, 2022 4:22 amI did some experiment on demoscene2. I set enemies to inactive at first. When player accepted Sergeant Graves quest, I set the enemies active again using add scene event.

But, when I save / load game or transition to demoscene1 then come back to demoscene2, the enemies become inactive again. How to fix this?
Use the save system, and set up a Multi Active Saver to save the active/inactive states of the enemies or an Active Saver to save the active/inactive state of its parent GameObject (Enemies). Or, if you don't want to set up the save system, add a Dialogue System Trigger set to OnSaveDataApplied. Set the Conditions > Quest Conditions to check if the quest is active. If so, use the Actions section to activate the Enemies parent GameObject.
Jat_Hero wrote: Wed May 04, 2022 4:22 amSecond question, how to navigate demo menu using gamepad? Or do I need to use my customize game menu?
Use your own menu, or the free Menu Framework addon available on the Dialogue System Extras page. The DemoMenu script is a simple, legacy Unity GUI script only intended to drive the demo scenes. Since it uses basic legacy Unity GUI, it doesn't support gamepad navigation.
Post Reply