Autopicking the same response regardless of player input

Announcements, support questions, and discussion for the Dialogue System.
Post Reply
ToHeckAndBack
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2021 10:54 am

Autopicking the same response regardless of player input

Post by ToHeckAndBack »

Hello. First of all, I enjoy the asset. It's well organized and easy to understand despite the large amount of feautres.

However, recentaly I have run into an issue I cannot seem to solve. I use the JRPG template. Whenever the player can choose between a few responses, the converstation ALWAYS continues with the first response, regardles of the highlighted choice at the point of entry or whatever the first response is (I havet tried changing the order of responses, delete and re write the response in the editor... same issue).

I don't know if this helps, but when I click on the screen with the mouse it shows that I "click" the first option. (I disabled mouse detection but I checked " interactble" for the response template to see what it does). Moreover, if the responses are numbered and numpad is enabled the responses are picked according to the numbers.

I hope I manage to articulate the issue well enough. Thank you for your time!
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 21981
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Autopicking the same response regardless of player input

Post by Tony Li »

Hi,

Thanks for using the Dialogue System!

When autonumbering is enabled and you press a number key, it selects the response associated with that number, correct?

The only issue is selecting a response with the mouse? If so, what's your reason for disabling mouse detection? (For example, it's common to disable mouse detection if some other asset or system controls the mouse.)

Is the Dialogue Manager's Input Device Manager component > Always Auto Focus ticked? What is the value of the Input Device dropdown?

If Always Auto Focus is ticked or the Input Device dropdown is set to Joystick or Keyboard, and if your response menu's Standard UI Menu Panel component > Focus Check Frequency is greater than zero, then the response menu will always make sure one of its buttons it focused (selected).

Are you using Unity's regular built-in input manager system, or the new Input System package or something else?

It may help to keep an inspector view on the EventSystem GameObject. At runtime, the EventSystem inspector will show what UI element is currently selected.
ToHeckAndBack
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2021 10:54 am

Re: Autopicking the same response regardless of player input

Post by ToHeckAndBack »


The only issue is selecting a response with the mouse? If so, what's your reason for disabling mouse detection? (For example, it's common to disable mouse detection if some other asset or system controls the mouse.)
Technically it's supposed to be controled by the keyboard-you press the E key to either continue or selcet answer (navigations via w and s), sorry for the confusion
Is the Dialogue Manager's Input Device Manager component > Always Auto Focus ticked? What is the value of the Input Device dropdown?
Always auto focused is ticked, the input device is keyboard
Are you using Unity's regular built-in input manager system, or the new Input System package or something else?
I use the new input system package (had it enabled on the welcome window), I added UI botton trigger to the response template, though (so the bottun be triggered by a specific key)
It may help to keep an inspector view on the EventSystem GameObject. At runtime, the EventSystem inspector will show what UI element is currently selected.
Tried to look at the inspector at runtime, not sure at what component of the EventSystem GameObject this information is shown...
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 21981
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Autopicking the same response regardless of player input

Post by Tony Li »

Hi,

Since you're using the new Input System package, make sure you've set up the Dialogue System for it using the steps in this video. In particular, you need to set up a script for some Dialogue System input.

However, in this case, the script doesn't come into play. It's all Unity UI and EventSystem, nothing Dialogue System-specific.

Presumably you've mapped the 'E' key to an action in your input actions asset. Make sure this action is assigned to your EventSystem's Submit field. Similarly, assign the A/W-key axis to the EventSystem's Vertical field.
ToHeckAndBack
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2021 10:54 am

Re: Autopicking the same response regardless of player input

Post by ToHeckAndBack »

Integrated new input system according to the vid (no problems there!) then changed the submit bindings in the event system-it worked, but for some reason only after I deleted and recreated the EventSystem in scnece.

All good now. Thank you so much for your help!
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 21981
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Autopicking the same response regardless of player input

Post by Tony Li »

Happy to help!
Post Reply