Corgi Engine: Response menu keeps showing up

Announcements, support questions, and discussion for the Dialogue System.
Post Reply
mohamad321
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2021 8:53 am

Corgi Engine: Response menu keeps showing up

Post by mohamad321 »

Hello!

first of all i would like to thank you for your hard work on this amazing system, it really helped us achieve many of our goals in our game and save a lot of time.

second, im currently facing an issue that might seem trivial but I've exhausted all the solutions that i can think of to fix the issue and i hope you could help me solve it.

we are using the dialogue system with corgi engine and our goal now is to start a dialogue between the player and his companion when player collects certain items.

The steps:
1- set dialogue system trigger component on the item, disabled conversation zone script, set trigger to ontrigger and the action to start conversation
https://prnt.sc/1v0vd1t

2- set dialogue actor component on both the player object and his companion
https://prnt.sc/1v0v3yq

3- added CorgiStandardDialogueControls object to both player and his companion
4- These are the settings for the conversation
https://prnt.sc/1v0wdne

our goal: a conversation between two characters (player, his companion) with no interruptions or response menus

issue:
the conversation starts smoothly till it reaches the blue node for the player, at that point a response menu is displayed which is not what we want
the response menu contains two responses that are duplicate of each other and the response text is the text of the blue node

we have disabled always force response menu in the override settings and the dialogue system controller but still no luck solving the issue.

thanks for your time
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 21984
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Corgi Engine: Response menu keeps showing up

Post by Tony Li »

Hi,

Try setting the Dialogue Actor's Menu Panel Number to Default since you haven't assigned a menu panel:

corgiDefaultMenu.png
corgiDefaultMenu.png (48.51 KiB) Viewed 191 times

In the Dialogue Editor, inspect the previous gray node and remove all links in the "Links To:" section. Then re-add the link. Maybe somehow two links to the blue node were added.

Temporarily set the Dialogue Manager's Other Settings > Debug Log to Info. Then reproduce the issue. This will log a lot of info to the Console window. It may indicate why it thinks there are two responses.

Alternatively, you can add the tag "[auto]" to the blue node's Dialogue Text. This will make it play automatically without showing a response menu. However, this is really just a workaround. If there is only one response and Always Force Response Menu is unticked, then it should play automatically anyway.
mohamad321
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2021 8:53 am

Re: Corgi Engine: Response menu keeps showing up

Post by mohamad321 »

Problem solved.

by inspecting the previous gray node, i found two links to blue node as you said, removing one of them solved the issue.

thank you ,I deeply appreciate your help and taking time to help solve the problem
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 21984
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Corgi Engine: Response menu keeps showing up

Post by Tony Li »

Happy to help!
Post Reply