Articy Converter throwing errors [SOLVED]

Announcements, support questions, and discussion for the Dialogue System.
Post Reply
PeterParked
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Oct 07, 2015 7:32 pm

Articy Converter throwing errors [SOLVED]

Post by PeterParked »

I'm starting a fresh project in Unity with Dialogue System. When I use the Articy:Draft converter, following the instructions here: http://www.pixelcrushers.com/dialogue_s ... erter.html

I'm getting these errors:

Code: Select all

Couldn't create asset file!
UnityEditor.AssetDatabase:CreateAsset(Object, String)
PixelCrushers.DialogueSystem.Articy.ArticyConverterWindow:LoadOrCreateDatabase(String)
PixelCrushers.DialogueSystem.Articy.ArticyConverterWindow:ConvertArticyProject()
PixelCrushers.DialogueSystem.Articy.ArticyConverterWindow:DrawConvertButton()
PixelCrushers.DialogueSystem.Articy.ArticyConverterWindow:DrawConversionButtons()
PixelCrushers.DialogueSystem.Articy.ArticyConverterWindow:OnGUI()
UnityEditor.DockArea:OnGUI()

Code: Select all

UnityException: Creating asset at path  failed.
PixelCrushers.DialogueSystem.Articy.ArticyConverterWindow.LoadOrCreateDatabase (System.String filename)
PixelCrushers.DialogueSystem.Articy.ArticyConverterWindow.ConvertArticyProject ()
PixelCrushers.DialogueSystem.Articy.ArticyConverterWindow.DrawConvertButton ()
PixelCrushers.DialogueSystem.Articy.ArticyConverterWindow.DrawConversionButtons ()
PixelCrushers.DialogueSystem.Articy.ArticyConverterWindow.OnGUI ()
System.Reflection.MonoMethod.Invoke (System.Object obj, BindingFlags invokeAttr, System.Reflection.Binder binder, System.Object[] parameters, System.Globalization.CultureInfo culture) (at /Users/builduser/buildslave/mono-runtime-and-classlibs/build/mcs/class/corlib/System.Reflection/MonoMethod.cs:222)
I've Googled the error a little bit, and pulled up this information that may or may not be related:
Did you know that CreateAsset must take a path relative to the project? And that it'll barf with the above abominable generic errors if you give it an absolute path?
PeterParked
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Oct 07, 2015 7:32 pm

Re: Articy Converter throwing errors [SOLVED]

Post by PeterParked »

Turns out the problem was that the directory listed in Step 6 here didn't yet exist:

http://www.pixelcrushers.com/dialogue_s ... erter.html
For Save To, select the folder where you want the dialogue database to be created.
That folder has to exist already. Oh, user error, you make life interesting.
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 21925
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Articy Converter throwing errors [SOLVED]

Post by Tony Li »

Sorry, oversight on my part. The next release will warn you beforehand if the folder doesn't exist.
Post Reply