[SOLVED] Changing animator status at end of conversation line

Announcements, support questions, and discussion for the Dialogue System.
Post Reply
User avatar
Sindaru
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Mar 16, 2016 1:42 pm
Contact:

[SOLVED] Changing animator status at end of conversation line

Post by Sindaru »

Hello there,

I am planning to perform various changes in the animator parameters of the conversant character. These changes are supposed to happen at the start of a node and at the end of a node, after the subtitles have been displayed. I am using the sequencer to adjust these parameters yet was unable to find a way to check for the line of a node to be done (e.g. subtitles completely displayed and write-effect done. The player about to click to continue for the next node).

In the picture below I have the character play through a talk-loop until the bool is set to false again. I am not planning to use voice overs so the SALSA approach is not applicable.
Image

Hope this problem is clear. Looking forwards to your response. :)
Last edited by Sindaru on Wed Mar 16, 2016 2:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 21925
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Changing animator status at end of conversation line.

Post by Tony Li »

Hi,

Try this:

1. Set your Dialogue Manager's Display Settings > Subtitle Settings > Subtitle Chars Per Second to the same value as your dialogue UI typewriter effect's Chars Per Second.

2. Use this sequence:

Code: Select all

AnimatorBool(TalkNormal);
AnimatorBool(TalkNormal,false)@{{end}}
The first AnimatorBool() uses the default values (true, speaker) so I omitted them.

The second AnimatorBool() runs at the subtitle end time. Since your typewriter effect will have the same Chars Per Second, this is equivalent to running at the end of the typewriter effect.

If you don't want to type this into every single dialogue entry node's Sequence field, you can set the Dialogue Manager's Camera Settings > Default Sequence and then leave the dialogue entry node's Sequence field blank.
User avatar
Sindaru
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Mar 16, 2016 1:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Changing animator status at end of conversation line.

Post by Sindaru »

Hey Tony,

thank you for the lightning fast response! How would I approach overwriting the default sequence I would set up at the camera for an individual node (e.g. if there is another kind of talking-animation available for certain circumstances; mumbling, agitated talk, etc)?

Edit: I noticed that whenever the sequencer is receiving custom commands that the default settings are overwritten. This resolves the conflict and all my questions. Thanks for your time.

-Sin
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 21925
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: [SOLVED] Changing animator status at end of conversation line

Post by Tony Li »

Hi Sin,

Happy to help! Glad it's working now.
Post Reply