Response Menu Sequence delay

Announcements, support questions, and discussion for the Dialogue System.
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 22049
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Response Menu Sequence delay

Post by Tony Li »

Thanks! I'll check it out and reply back by the end of the day.
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 22049
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Response Menu Sequence delay

Post by Tony Li »

Subtitle panel 0 (NPC Subtitle Panel) is flashing briefly. This is because panel 0 is visible. So when you hide and then show the dialogue UI, it hides panel 0 and then shows panel 0. Then it closes panel 0 because it's on the PC line. And then it opens panel 0 again to show the next NPC line.

What if you change the Sequence to:

Code: Select all

HidePanel(0); //<--CHANGE FROM 1.
SetDialoguePanel(false);
Continue()@2;
required SetDialoguePanel(true)@2;
In fact, you may want to change it to this:

Code: Select all

HidePanel(0); //<--CHANGE FROM 1.
SetDialoguePanel(false)@0.1;
Continue()@2;
required SetDialoguePanel(true)@2;
This ensures that HidePanel(0) runs before SetDialoguePanel(false). Otherwise, since they would both run at the start of the sequence, it's possible that SetDialoguePanel(false) could run first.
fkkcloud
Posts: 298
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2020 6:00 am

Re: Response Menu Sequence delay

Post by fkkcloud »

Thank you. I will try that.

Howerver, as you can see the Choice 2 in the repro example does not make that problem at all. I wonder why for that one.
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 22049
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Response Menu Sequence delay

Post by Tony Li »

I think it may have been a timing issue with the animation.
fkkcloud
Posts: 298
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2020 6:00 am

Re: Response Menu Sequence delay

Post by fkkcloud »

2nd sequence command definitely fixed for all cases.
I might have player response followed by not just panel 0 though, any suggestions?

ps. I will use that temp project for future repros as well :)
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 22049
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Response Menu Sequence delay

Post by Tony Li »

Maybe hide all panels?

Code: Select all

HidePanel(0);
HidePanel(1);
HidePanel(2);
SetDialoguePanel(false)@0.1;
Continue()@2;
required SetDialoguePanel(true)@2;
fkkcloud
Posts: 298
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2020 6:00 am

Re: Response Menu Sequence delay

Post by fkkcloud »

Code: Select all

SetDialoguePanel(true)
shouled reset all the "variable/setup" related to HidePanel(n) , correct?
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 22049
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Response Menu Sequence delay

Post by Tony Li »

I'm not sure what you mean.

SetDialoguePanel(false) records which panels are open. Then it closes the panels and hides the dialogue UI.

SetDialoguePanel(true) shows the dialogue UI and then tells the recorded panels to open.
fkkcloud
Posts: 298
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2020 6:00 am

Re: Response Menu Sequence delay

Post by fkkcloud »

Im just checking to see because previously, HidePanel was clearing cache of overridden panel assignments.
In version 2.2.14, hiding the dialogue UI clears its cache of overridden panel assignments
Since I am not explicitly calling "ShowPanel(0); ShowPanel(1)" but instead calling "SetDialoguePanel(true)" which seems like shows "all" the dialogue UI and tell the recorded panels to open?
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 22049
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Response Menu Sequence delay

Post by Tony Li »

Oh, sorry, I was testing on 2.2.15, which is pending release on the Asset Store. It doesn't clear the cache.
Post Reply