Using Multiple Item Categories in Articy/Dialogue System

Announcements, support questions, and discussion for the Dialogue System.
Post Reply
CodePrincess
Posts: 111
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2018 11:06 pm

Using Multiple Item Categories in Articy/Dialogue System

Post by CodePrincess »

Hi, everyone! Happy 2021!

So, what's the best way to handle multiple item categories when writing your game in Articy:Draft? Should I add a "category" property to the "Item" entity's template?

Does anybody think using it to export files to a project that uses Dialogue System and Adventure Creator could be a bad idea?
Thank you so much for your help.

Oh! My stats!
Unity 2020.1.10f1
Adventure Creator 1.72.2
Dialogue System for Unity 2.2.12
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 21721
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Using Multiple Item Categories in Articy/Dialogue System

Post by Tony Li »

Hi,

Quite a few games use articy:draft, Dialogue System, and Adventure Creator (AC) together. It's a good combination.

Adding a category property is also a good way to handle multiple item categories. The only catch is that AC doesn't import articy:draft, so you won't be able to translate those articy entities into AC items.
CodePrincess
Posts: 111
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2018 11:06 pm

Re: Using Multiple Item Categories in Articy/Dialogue System

Post by CodePrincess »

Quite a few games use articy:draft, Dialogue System, and Adventure Creator (AC) together. It's a good combination.
Yay! :D
Adding a category property is also a good way to handle multiple item categories. The only catch is that AC doesn't import articy:draft, so you won't be able to translate those articy entities into AC items.
Would using commands like acSetItemCount("itemName", value) in the Dialogue fragment's Stage Command text field work?
Thank you so much for your help.

Oh! My stats!
Unity 2020.1.10f1
Adventure Creator 1.72.2
Dialogue System for Unity 2.2.12
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 21721
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Using Multiple Item Categories in Articy/Dialogue System

Post by Tony Li »

CodePrincess wrote: Sun Jan 10, 2021 9:58 pmWould using commands like acSetItemCount("itemName", value) in the Dialogue fragment's Stage Command text field work?
acSetItemCount is one of the AC Lua functions, so you'll want to use it on an output pin or a instruction node:

articyScriptField.png
articyScriptField.png (47.56 KiB) Viewed 520 times

The screenshot above shows both types of places where you can put the Lua code. If you put it in the dialogue fragment's output pin, you don't need to add an instruction node.

(Use input pins for Lua code for the Conditions field.)

Articy expects code to be in their custom articy:expresso language, so it will flag it as unrecognized code, but the Dialogue System will work with it just fine.
CodePrincess
Posts: 111
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2018 11:06 pm

[Solved!] Re: Using Multiple Item Categories in Articy/Dialogue System

Post by CodePrincess »

Okay, I am so bookmarking this!

Thank you so much! 8-)
Thank you so much for your help.

Oh! My stats!
Unity 2020.1.10f1
Adventure Creator 1.72.2
Dialogue System for Unity 2.2.12
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 21721
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Using Multiple Item Categories in Articy/Dialogue System

Post by Tony Li »

Happy to help!
Post Reply