{{default}} triggered without it?

Announcements, support questions, and discussion for the Dialogue System.
Post Reply
fkkcloud
Posts: 298
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2020 6:00 am

{{default}} triggered without it?

Post by fkkcloud »

Hi,

I have some default sequence command and using it for specific nodes only with {{default}}.

For some node, without putting {{default}} in the Sequence textfield, it triggers it. How should I not call the sequences in the default?
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 22051
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: {{default}} triggered without it?

Post by Tony Li »

A node must have a sequence of some sort. If you leave the Sequence field blank, it will use the Dialogue Manager's Default Sequence.

If you don't want to play any sequence, set the Sequence field to: None()

Note that this will cause the node to immediately finish and progress to the next stage of the conversation. Instead, you may want to delay for a duration: Delay({{end}})
fkkcloud
Posts: 298
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2020 6:00 am

Re: {{default}} triggered without it?

Post by fkkcloud »

I see!

Also a follow up question-, Delay(4) should make the node to wait to go to the next sequencer command or to the next node it it is the last one, right?

It seems like Continue button from Player side would not wait for the delay? Should I delay the continue button with it as well?
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 22051
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: {{default}} triggered without it?

Post by Tony Li »

Hi,

Yes, the continue button will cancel the Sequence and skip to the next stage in the conversation.

If you want to temporarily disable the continue button, use SetContinueMode():

Code: Select all

SetContinueMode(false);
Delay(4);
SetContinueMode(true)@4
Technically, since SetContinueMode(true) already waits until the 4-second mark, you don't need the Delay(4) in this case.

Code: Select all

SetContinueMode(false);
SetContinueMode(true)@4
Post Reply