Dialogue entries not loaded correctly (with AC plugin)
Re: Dialogue entries not loaded correctly (with AC plugin)
If you can pare it down to something smaller that still reproduces the issue, that would be fine. In either case, here are the instructions for packing it up: reproduction project
Or, if you can write a list of steps to follow, that would be fine instead of a reproduction project. Example:
1. Create new project.
2. Import AC & DS.
3. etc.
If none of that is possible, I can put together a debug version of Remember Dialogue System that should be able to log additional information that might help you identify the problem.
Or, if you can write a list of steps to follow, that would be fine instead of a reproduction project. Example:
1. Create new project.
2. Import AC & DS.
3. etc.
If none of that is possible, I can put together a debug version of Remember Dialogue System that should be able to log additional information that might help you identify the problem.
- Adventure4Life
- Posts: 21
- Joined: Fri May 01, 2020 8:17 am
Re: Dialogue entries not loaded correctly (with AC plugin)
I think in my tight deadline and other bugs to fix a debug version might works best.
please tell me what I need to do.
please tell me what I need to do.
Re: Dialogue entries not loaded correctly (with AC plugin)
I'll put it together and send it to you within the next 4 hours.
Re: Dialogue entries not loaded correctly (with AC plugin)
Hi,
I thought of one more thing: Is the Adventure Creator Bridge's Include SimStatus checkbox ticked?
Some users requested this extra checkbox to be able to turn off AC's saving of SimStatus. It overrides the value of the Dialogue Manager's 'Use SimStatus' checkbox.
Here's the debug version of RememberDialogueSystem:
DS_AC_RememberDSDebug_2020-10-01.unitypackage
It will import into a folder named Assets/Test.
Temporarily replace your RememberDialogueSystem component with this RememberDialogueSystem_DebugVersion. Then save and load.
When you save, you'll see something like this:
When you load, you'll see something like this:
I'll break down the first one in the example above, which is for the conversation with ID 1:
The numbers are dialogue entry IDs. The characters 'u', 'o', and 'd' mean:
I thought of one more thing: Is the Adventure Creator Bridge's Include SimStatus checkbox ticked?
Some users requested this extra checkbox to be able to turn off AC's saving of SimStatus. It overrides the value of the Dialogue Manager's 'Use SimStatus' checkbox.
Here's the debug version of RememberDialogueSystem:
DS_AC_RememberDSDebug_2020-10-01.unitypackage
It will import into a folder named Assets/Test.
Temporarily replace your RememberDialogueSystem component with this RememberDialogueSystem_DebugVersion. Then save and load.
When you save, you'll see something like this:
Code: Select all
Pixel Crushers Save System is saving Dialogue System state:
; Conversation[1].SimX="1;o;2;d;3;o;4;o;0;d"; Conversation[2].SimX="1;d;2;u;3;u;0;d";
Code: Select all
Pixel Crushers Save System is restoring Dialogue System state from Adventure Creator:
; Conversation[1].SimX="1;o;2;d;3;o;4;o;0;d"; Conversation[2].SimX="1;d;2;u;3;u;0;d"; Conversation[3].SimX="1;u;2;u;3;u;4;u;5;u;6;u;0;u"; StatusTable = ""; RelationshipTable = "";
Code: Select all
Conversation[1].SimX="1;o;2;d;3;o;4;o;0;d";
- u: Untouched
- o: Was Offered
- d: Was Displayed
- Adventure4Life
- Posts: 21
- Joined: Fri May 01, 2020 8:17 am
Re: Dialogue entries not loaded correctly (with AC plugin)
Thank you!
Include Sim Status is ticked, is that might cause the problem?
Include Sim Status is ticked, is that might cause the problem?
Re: Dialogue entries not loaded correctly (with AC plugin)
Since you're using SimStatus, the Adventure Creator Bridge's Include SimStatus checkbox should be ticked.
- Adventure4Life
- Posts: 21
- Joined: Fri May 01, 2020 8:17 am
Re: Dialogue entries not loaded correctly (with AC plugin)
Understand. Will check the debug now
- Adventure4Life
- Posts: 21
- Joined: Fri May 01, 2020 8:17 am
Re: Dialogue entries not loaded correctly (with AC plugin)
Okay here's what I saw:
scenario #1
1. conversation start, I saw all entries exist
2. select one entry with only condition:
Dialog[thisID].SimStatus ~= "WasDisplayed" => entry dissapear from conversation
3. exit conversation using 'exit' entry
4. save the game
specific entry in log marked - 'offered' (which should be 'displayed')
5. load game
specific entry in log marked - 'offered'
6. conversation start, I saw again the entry
select again => entry still exist! (it should dissappear)
7.save game specific entry in log marked - 'displayed'
8.load game specific entry in log marked - 'displayed'
9. conversation start, again see the entry
scenario #2 (which I'm not sure if it's relate to save-load but still related to SimStatus)
1. conversation start, I saw all entries exist
2. select one entry with only condition:
Dialog[thisID].SimStatus ~= "WasDisplayed" => entry still exist
3. try select again entry still exist!
From the first scenario it look like load works fine
and I think the SimStatus in the memory is not saved correctly
scenario #1
1. conversation start, I saw all entries exist
2. select one entry with only condition:
Dialog[thisID].SimStatus ~= "WasDisplayed" => entry dissapear from conversation
3. exit conversation using 'exit' entry
4. save the game
specific entry in log marked - 'offered' (which should be 'displayed')
5. load game
specific entry in log marked - 'offered'
6. conversation start, I saw again the entry
select again => entry still exist! (it should dissappear)
7.save game specific entry in log marked - 'displayed'
8.load game specific entry in log marked - 'displayed'
9. conversation start, again see the entry
scenario #2 (which I'm not sure if it's relate to save-load but still related to SimStatus)
1. conversation start, I saw all entries exist
2. select one entry with only condition:
Dialog[thisID].SimStatus ~= "WasDisplayed" => entry still exist
3. try select again entry still exist!
From the first scenario it look like load works fine
and I think the SimStatus in the memory is not saved correctly
Re: Dialogue entries not loaded correctly (with AC plugin)
Hi,
Let's focus on this:
For instance, in the example I provided above, the SimStatus info for one conversation is:
Conversation[1] means the conversation ID is 1. I can confirm it in the Dialogue Editor:
The dialogue entry IDs are:
Does that help?
Also, are you using multiple databases? If so, did you use the Unique ID Tool?
Or is it possible that you manually modified internal ID numbers at some point? Maybe two conversations or dialogue entries have the same ID?
Let's focus on this:
Please double-check that you're looking at the right conversation ID and dialogue entry.Adventure4Life wrote: ↑Thu Oct 01, 2020 8:26 pmscenario #1
1. conversation start, I saw all entries exist
2. select one entry with only condition:
Dialog[thisID].SimStatus ~= "WasDisplayed" => entry dissapear from conversation
3. exit conversation using 'exit' entry
4. save the game
specific entry in log marked - 'offered' (which should be 'displayed')
For instance, in the example I provided above, the SimStatus info for one conversation is:
Code: Select all
Conversation[1].SimX="1;o;2;d;3;o;4;o;0;d"
The dialogue entry IDs are:
- 1 = Was Offered
- 2 = Was Displayed (This is the one I selected from the response menu.)
- 3 = Was Offered
- 4 = Was Offered
- 0 = Displayed (The <START> node.)
Does that help?
Also, are you using multiple databases? If so, did you use the Unique ID Tool?
Or is it possible that you manually modified internal ID numbers at some point? Maybe two conversations or dialogue entries have the same ID?
- Adventure4Life
- Posts: 21
- Joined: Fri May 01, 2020 8:17 am
Re: Dialogue entries not loaded correctly (with AC plugin)
Yes, I do understand and follow conversation and entry id exactly how you mentioned.
I'm using only one database (and I see auto-backup created as well)
Again, I double check and do scenario with screenshots (btw, each time I get different result!)
here's scenario:
1. conversation id 10 start, I saw all entries exist
2. exit conversation using 'exit' entry - id 22
3. saved the game - log appear to be correct
4. conversation id 10 start, select entries - 4, 9, 12,13 - all entires dissapear in dialog as expected
5. exit conversation using 'exit' entry - id 22
6. load the previous game (the one before all entries selected) - log appear to be correct
7. conversation id 10 start, I saw entry 13, 22 exist - instead of seeing all entries!!! (4, 9 , 12, 13, 22)
PS
I rerun SAME scenario
at the end I see only enty 22 - so it's REALLY not consistent.
I'm using only one database (and I see auto-backup created as well)
Again, I double check and do scenario with screenshots (btw, each time I get different result!)
here's scenario:
1. conversation id 10 start, I saw all entries exist
2. exit conversation using 'exit' entry - id 22
3. saved the game - log appear to be correct
4. conversation id 10 start, select entries - 4, 9, 12,13 - all entires dissapear in dialog as expected
5. exit conversation using 'exit' entry - id 22
6. load the previous game (the one before all entries selected) - log appear to be correct
7. conversation id 10 start, I saw entry 13, 22 exist - instead of seeing all entries!!! (4, 9 , 12, 13, 22)
PS
I rerun SAME scenario
at the end I see only enty 22 - so it's REALLY not consistent.