A continue button haunts.

Announcements, support questions, and discussion for the Dialogue System.
aaajiao
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2020 5:41 am

A continue button haunts.

Post by aaajiao »

HeyTony,

I had to use the continue button because sometimes the NPC will say several paragraphs in a row, and using the button allows the player to read it better, but I had a problem that when there is LoadLevel() in the sequence of the NPC's words, this dialogue of the scene switch is taken to the next scene and needs to be clicked to end it.


Screen Shot 2020-09-22 at 10.11.22 PM.png
Screen Shot 2020-09-22 at 10.11.22 PM.png (174.67 KiB) Viewed 888 times
Screen Shot 2020-09-22 at 10.11.35 PM.png
Screen Shot 2020-09-22 at 10.11.35 PM.png (188.34 KiB) Viewed 888 times
:D :D :D :D aaajiao
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 22037
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: A continue button haunts.

Post by Tony Li »

Hi,

Add this line to the end of the sequence:

Code: Select all

required Continue()@7.5
It will simulate a continue button click so the player doesn't have to click the continue button.
aaajiao
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2020 5:41 am

Re: A continue button haunts.

Post by aaajiao »

Code: Select all

required Continue()@7.6
Well, I tested that it needs to be executed after LoadLevel() for it to work, without interrupting LoadLevel(). :D :D :D
aaajiao
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2020 5:41 am

Re: A continue button haunts.

Post by aaajiao »

Related question, when a node-link to a new conversation has to be clicked on anyway to get to it, I tried various things ;)
Screen Shot 2020-09-23 at 12.40.24 AM.png
Screen Shot 2020-09-23 at 12.40.24 AM.png (160.43 KiB) Viewed 882 times
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 22037
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: A continue button haunts.

Post by Tony Li »

Continue() doesn't work?
aaajiao
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2020 5:41 am

Re: A continue button haunts.

Post by aaajiao »

Yes, it doesn't work.
have to click on everything to jump to it. :shock:
aaajiao
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2020 5:41 am

Re: A continue button haunts.

Post by aaajiao »

Code: Select all

required Continue()@7.6
There's still a hole in the logic, if I tap the continue button a couple of times in a row, the whole conversation ends before the scene jumps. :?:
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 22037
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: A continue button haunts.

Post by Tony Li »

Hi,

Disable the continue button until the level is loaded. Add this to the same Sequence as LoadLevel:

Code: Select all

SetContinueMode(false);
In the next node (after LoadLevel), add this to the Sequence:

Code: Select all

SetContinueMode(true);
aaajiao
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2020 5:41 am

Re: A continue button haunts.

Post by aaajiao »

Hey Tony

That's really the way to go. I changed my thinking, when the NPC speaks continuously, the first node SetContinueMode(true); the last SetContinueMode(false);
original: Restores the saved continue button mode.
I try to use it but it doesn't seem to work the way I set it up in the dialogue mannger.
aaajiao
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2020 5:41 am

Re: A continue button haunts.

Post by aaajiao »

aaajiao wrote: Tue Sep 22, 2020 6:42 pm Related question, when a node-link to a new conversation has to be clicked on anyway to get to it, I tried various things ;)
Screen Shot 2020-09-23 at 12.40.24 AM.png
I've tried everything and I still have to click to load the next conversation!
Post Reply