Pause conversation with Bolt

Announcements, support questions, and discussion for the Dialogue System.
Post Reply
aaajiao
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2020 5:41 am

Pause conversation with Bolt

Post by aaajiao »

https://gamedevbeginner.com/the-right-w ... -in-unity/

Code: Select all

Time.timeScale = 0
I tried to use bolt to pause Dialogue System and it failed, I don't know why, I basically followed the tutorial above. :x
What's the best way to use bolt to tentatively schedule an ongoing conversation? :o
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 22054
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Pause conversation with Bolt

Post by Tony Li »

Hi,

What do you mean by "tentatively schedule an ongoing conversation?"

What do you want to happen?
aaajiao
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2020 5:41 am

Re: Pause conversation with Bolt

Post by aaajiao »

I have a pause menu made with unity ui and bolt, but I can't pause during the conversation.
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 22054
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Pause conversation with Bolt

Post by Tony Li »

Are you saying that the conversation does not pause when you set Time.timeScale to zero?

If so, inspect the Dialogue Manager GameObject. Set Other Settings > Dialogue Time to Gameplay. This will make it observe Time.timeScale.
aaajiao
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2020 5:41 am

Re: Pause conversation with Bolt

Post by aaajiao »

Trying to do so, we can pause while the NPC is talking, but not if it's a palyer.
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 22054
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Pause conversation with Bolt

Post by Tony Li »

What happens when it's a player?

Is the problem that you can still click on response menu buttons? If so, there are two solutions:

1. Put your pause menu's canvas on a higher sort order than the Dialogue Manager's Canvas. Make your pause menu cover the entire screen. If you don't want it to visibly cover the entire screen, use a whole-screen image whose color alpha value is zero so it's invisible.

2. Or temporarily disable the Dialogue Manager Canvas's GraphicRaycaster component while the pause menu is visible.

In both cases, also call DialogueManager.Pause() when showing the pause menu and DialogueManager.Unpause() when hiding the pause menu. This will also stop any hotkeys you've set up on Dialogue System UIs.
aaajiao
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2020 5:41 am

Re: Pause conversation with Bolt

Post by aaajiao »

Screen Shot 2020-09-13 at 10.36.46 AM.png
Screen Shot 2020-09-13 at 10.36.46 AM.png (78.28 KiB) Viewed 817 times
I tried calling DialogueManager.Pause(), but it didn't work!
yes,the problem that you can still click on response menu buttons :D
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 22054
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Pause conversation with Bolt

Post by Tony Li »

Did you also do #1 or #2 above? Either of those are required to prevent clicking.
aaajiao
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2020 5:41 am

Re: Pause conversation with Bolt

Post by aaajiao »

Hey Tony

I ended up using a method that doesn't allow to execute the pasue menu while in the dialogue dialog.
Post Reply