Is it possible it's not working because I'm trying to link two separate conversations (with separate IDs) with a single variable? It should still work, right?
If I have the first dialogue trigger set to On Start, what would I set the second trigger to if I'm linking conversations? On conversation end?
Selecting Dialog Option With Number Keys
-
- Posts: 13
- Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2020 6:14 pm
Re: Selecting Dialog Option With Number Keys
Which approach are you using? (#1 or #2 from my previous reply.)
-
- Posts: 13
- Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2020 6:14 pm
Re: Selecting Dialog Option With Number Keys
I'm using method #1.
Here's screenshots of what I'm trying to do, I hope you don't mind. I know I'm doing something wrong, I'm just not sure what.
I have a dialogue entry that is supposed to connect to branch 2 in a different scene when the player talks to an NPC.
Now this is the next dialogue entry that I would like to link to the above entry with the variable set to true, but in a different conversation and a different scene.
The dialogue system trigger for the first scene.
The first dialogue system trigger in the second scene.
The second dialogue system trigger in the same second scene that I would like to activate the new conversation if the variable is set to true.
Any advice would be appreciated, thank you.
Here's screenshots of what I'm trying to do, I hope you don't mind. I know I'm doing something wrong, I'm just not sure what.
I have a dialogue entry that is supposed to connect to branch 2 in a different scene when the player talks to an NPC.
Now this is the next dialogue entry that I would like to link to the above entry with the variable set to true, but in a different conversation and a different scene.
The dialogue system trigger for the first scene.
The first dialogue system trigger in the second scene.
The second dialogue system trigger in the same second scene that I would like to activate the new conversation if the variable is set to true.
Any advice would be appreciated, thank you.
Re: Selecting Dialog Option With Number Keys
It's quite a bit simpler than all of that. Try these steps:
1. Define a single variable to specify whether Convo1_Branch1 or Convo1_Branch2 should play:
2. In Convo1_Branch1, set the variable true:
3. Configure the Convo1_Branch1 trigger to fire if the variable is false:
4. Configure the Convo1_Branch2 trigger to fire if the variable is true:
1. Define a single variable to specify whether Convo1_Branch1 or Convo1_Branch2 should play:
2. In Convo1_Branch1, set the variable true:
3. Configure the Convo1_Branch1 trigger to fire if the variable is false:
4. Configure the Convo1_Branch2 trigger to fire if the variable is true:
-
- Posts: 13
- Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2020 6:14 pm
Re: Selecting Dialog Option With Number Keys
Thank you so much!!!! You're so helpful, thank you again. It's so easy to see after the mistakes I had made.
Re: Selecting Dialog Option With Number Keys
Glad to help!