Hi,
I'm making a point and click adventure game using Adventure creator
and recently I bought Dialogue system for unity in order to use it's
tree based nodes for conversations. For each player node, I'm calling AC action list
(it gives me more flexibilty than using the Dialogue text)
so far it looks like these two plugins work fine with each other .
I would like to know if there are easy ways of doing the following (features which are given in AC dialogue system):
1. Disable entry after it been selected - without using specific variable per entry..
2. return to previous group of dialouge entries - without manualy link to previous group
3. return to previous group of dialouge entries if all current group entries been disabled.
Thanks.
Disable dialogue entries
Re: Disable dialogue entries
Hi,
To disable an entry entirely after it's been used, tick the Dialogue Manager's Other Settings > Include SimStatus, set the Conditions field to:
(You don't have to type that into the Conditions field. There's a "..." dropdown menu where you can select it.)
If they're menu responses and you want to show them in a different visual style, set the Dialogue Manager's Input Settings > [em#] Tag for Old Responses.Adventure4Life wrote: ↑Fri May 01, 2020 8:30 am1. Disable entry after it been selected - without using specific variable per entry.
To disable an entry entirely after it's been used, tick the Dialogue Manager's Other Settings > Include SimStatus, set the Conditions field to:
Code: Select all
Dialog[thisID].SimStatus ~= "WasDisplayed"
Use the conversation stack. You'll push a position onto the stack to record that position, then later pop to return to that recorded position.Adventure4Life wrote: ↑Fri May 01, 2020 8:30 am2. return to previous group of dialouge entries - without manualy link to previous group
It's not automatic, but you could add logic to do that with the conversation stack.Adventure4Life wrote: ↑Fri May 01, 2020 8:30 am3. return to previous group of dialouge entries if all current group entries been disabled.
- Adventure4Life
- Posts: 21
- Joined: Fri May 01, 2020 8:17 am
Re: Disable dialogue entries
Thanks for your quick reply,
1. I ticked 'Include SimStatus', and select the condition from dropdown (it was generated the same as the code you pasted),
however it throw the following exception:
'Look up of field '1' in the table element failed becuase the table element itself isn't in table"
[EDIT]
It's working now, the 'Include SimStatus' tick wasn't saved from some reason, I ticked it again
and now it works
2. I added to the dialog manager the 'conversation position stack' component (otherwise it throws exception),
added to the parent group's script: ' PushConversationPosition()' and for the child node's script 'PopConversationPosition()' -
nothing happened after child node been executed.
There is a way to see the stack?
[EDIT]
I see PushConversationPosition() isn't working with group...
1. I ticked 'Include SimStatus', and select the condition from dropdown (it was generated the same as the code you pasted),
however it throw the following exception:
'Look up of field '1' in the table element failed becuase the table element itself isn't in table"
[EDIT]
It's working now, the 'Include SimStatus' tick wasn't saved from some reason, I ticked it again
and now it works
2. I added to the dialog manager the 'conversation position stack' component (otherwise it throws exception),
added to the parent group's script: ' PushConversationPosition()' and for the child node's script 'PopConversationPosition()' -
nothing happened after child node been executed.
There is a way to see the stack?
[EDIT]
I see PushConversationPosition() isn't working with group...
Re: Disable dialogue entries
Please use PushConversationPosition() on the node before the group, which is typically a "What do you want to talk about?" node that branches off to different topics (including groups).
The stack currently isn't visible, but that's a great idea. I'll add it in the next update.
The stack currently isn't visible, but that's a great idea. I'll add it in the next update.
- Adventure4Life
- Posts: 21
- Joined: Fri May 01, 2020 8:17 am
Re: Disable dialogue entries
That's great
About your suggestion of PushConversationPosition() on the "What do you want to talk about?" node -
it works, but that means that each time we return to previous it repeat that line.
In general, point and click games require four easy to use options for dialogue entry:
1. delete\disable selected dialogue entry - right now, with dropdown it demands 4 clicks to get the code, or to paste the code
I suggest checkbox which you can tick to delete entry afterward.
2. remain in same dialogue group, after entry selected
3. return to previous dialogue group, after entry selected
options 2 and 3 can be selected in combobox, which also consist last option 'exit conversation'
4. a checkbox which can be added to the setting of the dialogue manager
'return to previous dialogue if no entries', otherwise it exit conversation.
I know it's a big ask, but if I'm thinking of using the plugin in
a long term project which demands many but really many entries with the following options,
it will be a mess in the current situation.
I will be gratefull (and I'm sure many others will be, too) if you will add those features in easy
to use GUI. it will improve the user experience a LOT.
About your suggestion of PushConversationPosition() on the "What do you want to talk about?" node -
it works, but that means that each time we return to previous it repeat that line.
In general, point and click games require four easy to use options for dialogue entry:
1. delete\disable selected dialogue entry - right now, with dropdown it demands 4 clicks to get the code, or to paste the code
I suggest checkbox which you can tick to delete entry afterward.
2. remain in same dialogue group, after entry selected
3. return to previous dialogue group, after entry selected
options 2 and 3 can be selected in combobox, which also consist last option 'exit conversation'
4. a checkbox which can be added to the setting of the dialogue manager
'return to previous dialogue if no entries', otherwise it exit conversation.
I know it's a big ask, but if I'm thinking of using the plugin in
a long term project which demands many but really many entries with the following options,
it will be a mess in the current situation.
I will be gratefull (and I'm sure many others will be, too) if you will add those features in easy
to use GUI. it will improve the user experience a LOT.
Re: Disable dialogue entries
Hi,
Yes, I'll look into ways to implement this.
Yes, I'll look into ways to implement this.
- Adventure4Life
- Posts: 21
- Joined: Fri May 01, 2020 8:17 am
Re: Disable dialogue entries
Thank you so much Tony, much appreciated!!!