Dialogue UI

Announcements, support questions, and discussion for the Dialogue System.
Post Reply
Yuri
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Feb 04, 2020 1:53 am

Dialogue UI

Post by Yuri »

I want to create a dialogue likes Ys. It will show the conversation in upper right corner when it's triggered. And I have some questions.

1. I need to use another UI or create another subtitle panel and set panel number?

2. Can I make panels accumulate and hide after few seconds?

I'm sorry for my poor English. Hope you can understand and give some suggestions.

Thanks.

Image
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 22055
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Dialogue UI

Post by Tony Li »

Hi,
Yuri wrote: Tue Feb 04, 2020 9:28 am1. I need to use another UI or create another subtitle panel and set panel number?
I recommend creating a new dialogue UI. (See: Dialogue UI Tutorial)
Yuri wrote: Tue Feb 04, 2020 9:28 am2. Can I make panels accumulate and hide after few seconds?
Yes. Depending on how you want it to work, you may need to handle the hiding yourself. Otherwise you can just use Delay(#) sequencer commands, and it will hide automatically after # seconds.
Yuri
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Feb 04, 2020 1:53 am

Re: Dialogue UI

Post by Yuri »

Hi Tony,

Thank you for your reply.

I have two or more subtitle panels, and I want to make panels take turn playing conversation. (a dialogue entry, a panel)

Here is what I want to do:

1. panel 1 plays dialogue entry 1.

2. when it's end, it hides, and panel 2 shows and plays dialogue entry 2.

3. Then, panel 2 hides and panel 1 plays dialogue entry 3 ...

How can i do it?
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 22055
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Dialogue UI

Post by Tony Li »

Two ways:

1. Put [panel=#] in each node's Dialogue Text to specify which panel to use.

2. Or assign the nodes to different actors. Add a Dialogue Actor component to each actor's GameObject, and specify which panel each actor should use.
Yuri
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Feb 04, 2020 1:53 am

Re: Dialogue UI

Post by Yuri »

Thanks, Tony.

I'v finished it. But, when I show the same Actor in two different panels, the previous panel will close. Is there any solution?
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 22055
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Dialogue UI

Post by Tony Li »

Do you want to keep showing the same actor in both panels simultaneously?

If so, try setting the panels' Visibility to Always Once Shown.
Post Reply