Articy import | Pipe character

Announcements, support questions, and discussion for the Dialogue System.
Post Reply
User avatar
Rallix
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Jul 08, 2019 9:02 am

Articy import | Pipe character

Post by Rallix »

Hi,
today I reimported the dialogue database from articy:draft (after some time) and ran into a problem.
Seems like the pipe character now has a special meaning, splitting the conversation. That's fine by me, but it seems to cause problems during the import phase.

I didn't intend to split dialogues, I simply used it as a shortcut for "or" in temporary lines or future options, for example:
Player: No! I got to the [guardhouse | main square | inn] in time!
Full dialogue fragment

Code: Select all

<DialogueFragment Id="0x010000000005172B" ObjectTemplateReference="0x01000000000035AE" ObjectTemplateReferenceName="CharacterDialogueFragment">
      <DisplayName><![CDATA[Dirk: "No! I got to the [guardhouse | main..."]]></DisplayName>
      <Text Count="1" HasMarkup="1">
        <LocalizedString Lang="">No! I got to the [guardhouse | main square | inn] in time!</LocalizedString>
      </Text>
      <Color>#E5E0EC</Color>
      <TechnicalName>DFr_DBE82411</TechnicalName>
      <ExternalId/>
      <ShortId>0xDBE82411</ShortId>
      <Url>articy://localhost/view/fc675ff8-bf16-4da3-8a46-4a596c9d5610/72057594038261547</Url>
      <Features Count="1">
        <Feature Name="DialogueFragmentProperties" IdRef="0x01000000000035B2">
          <Properties Count="3">
            <NamedReference Name="ConversantEntity" IdRef="0x0000000000000000"/>
            <String Name="Sequence"/>
            <String Name="Response_Menu_Sequence"/>
          </Properties>
        </Feature>
      </Features>
      <Pins Count="2">
        <Pin Id="0x010000000005172E" Index="0" Semantic="Input">
          <Expression/>
        </Pin>
        <Pin Id="0x010000000005172F" Index="0" Semantic="Output">
          <Expression/>
        </Pin>
      </Pins>
      <Position X="2023" Y="0"/>
      <Size Width="225" Height="200"/>
      <ZIndex>15</ZIndex>
      <Speaker IdRef="0x010000000000029B"/>
      <StageDirections Count="0"/>
      <MenuText Count="0"/>
    </DialogueFragment>
The import then fails due to NullReferenceException as it attempts to split the line.

I could replace the pipe characters with something else in my project (in fact I did that), but since it throws an exception, I thought I'd let you know.

Also an unrelated UI thing – the XML file location field seems to only show whole words. I thought it didn't cache the file location properly when it, in fact, simply stayed hidden. Notice what 5px difference in window width does:
FileLocation.png
FileLocation.png (7.75 KiB) Viewed 502 times
I don't know if it's the default Unity behaviour, but if it's possible, it might be better to show the address cut in half rather than whole words only. Not an overly important issue, though.

Thanks. ;)
Attachments
Whole words.png
Whole words.png (7.75 KiB) Viewed 505 times
Whole words.png
Whole words.png (7.75 KiB) Viewed 506 times
SplitPipe.png
SplitPipe.png (45.29 KiB) Viewed 507 times
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 21079
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Articy import | Pipe character

Post by Tony Li »

Hi,

Good point on the pipe character. I'll add a checkbox to the articy import window to split notes on pipe characters or not. (And I'll also fix that NullReferenceException.)

Unfortunately there's nothing to be done about the XML filename field. That's the way the Unity editor works.
User avatar
Rallix
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Jul 08, 2019 9:02 am

Re: Articy import | Pipe character

Post by Rallix »

All right, thank you. ;)
Post Reply