Using ArticyDraft/DialogueSystem and Corgi, help needed

Announcements, support questions, and discussion for the Dialogue System.
TangledRays
Posts: 42
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2019 5:48 pm

Re: Using ArticyDraft/DialogueSystem and Corgi, help needed

Post by TangledRays »

Gone through now :)
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 22056
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Using ArticyDraft/DialogueSystem and Corgi, help needed

Post by Tony Li »

Where should I put the contents of the RSC folder? Inside Assets? For example, the folder structure would then look like:
  • Assets / Behaviours
  • Assets / Cut Scenes
  • Assets / Dialogue System
  • Assets / EffekseerFX, etc.
Or in a subfolder underneath Assets?
TangledRays
Posts: 42
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2019 5:48 pm

Re: Using ArticyDraft/DialogueSystem and Corgi, help needed

Post by TangledRays »

In a subfolder inside assets ;) I've been trying to fix things this end but it's been a can of worms haha :shock: Just drop the RSC folder in
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 22056
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Using ArticyDraft/DialogueSystem and Corgi, help needed

Post by Tony Li »

Thanks again for sending the project files. The Dialogue System's Corgi Support example works. I sent you a private message with a video showing it working in your project.

The Dialogue System's DemoScene1 won't work as-is because Corgi overwrites Unity's default input settings. In DemoScene1, the player's controller expects to read from inputs named "Mouse X" and "Mouse Y". You can add these input settings back (Edit > Project > Input), but it's easy enough to bypass it to verify that conversations work in the scene:

1. Disable the Player GameObject's Simple Controller.
2. Change Private Hart's Dialogue System Trigger from OnUse to OnStart.

When you play the scene, Private Hart's conversation will start immediately.

I'm not sure how your game's scenes are supposed to work. But just like Corgi's GameManager is in MYStartScreen, you should put the Dialogue Manager prefab in MYStartScreen and assign your dialogue database to it. I couldn't get Felicity to move in Lake Eden, so I didn't test it any further.

Since you're using Corgi, you probably don't need to add a Proximity Selector to Felicity. You can use Corgi's interaction system. Briefly:

1. Make sure Felicity has a Character Button Activation component.
2. Add a ConversationZone prefab to anything that you want to play a conversation when activated.

Side tip: If you're not using Nevigo's articy plugin yet, you might want to remove it until you absolutely need it. The fact that it does pauses Unity to do some processing whenever you change a file in the project or press play/stop drives me a little crazy.
TangledRays
Posts: 42
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2019 5:48 pm

Re: Using ArticyDraft/DialogueSystem and Corgi, help needed

Post by TangledRays »

Thank you :) I think then perhaps my best bet is to start with a fresh project and re-import the assets, which will be a long process but worth doing. That way I'll find out which ones are clashing, if any, but I suspect it's just a case of having so many assets that something has fundamentally gone wrong in the project set-up I have. Thanks again for taking a look for me :? :D
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 22056
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Using ArticyDraft/DialogueSystem and Corgi, help needed

Post by Tony Li »

Sounds good. You actually did a good job of avoiding common issues related to moving assets. The online manual has a related FAQ: What files can I move or delete?

Some people inadvertently break assets by moving folders into or out of Unity's "magic folders" -- Plugins, Gizmos, and Editor Default Resources -- but from a glance it looks like you didn't do that.

You might want to consider leaving assets where they get installed, and create a single folder to contain your project-specific files. It's common to name this folder "__Game" or "__Project" so it sorts to the top of the Project view.

For example, The Corridor uses a lot of Asset Store assets (mostly special shaders and postprocess effects). We left them wherever they installed, and put all of the game-specific files into a folder named "__Game" containing subfolders such as Scenes, Scripts, Data, etc. Not only does this keep us from breaking assets by moving them, but when we import updates that contain new files they don't end up scattered between the original and new locations.
TangledRays
Posts: 42
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2019 5:48 pm

Re: Using ArticyDraft/DialogueSystem and Corgi, help needed

Post by TangledRays »

Well I've started a the fresh project and the demo is now working, but in game it's still not reacting, I'll have to get back to you on this, it's being a bit of a headache haha :roll:
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 22056
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Using ArticyDraft/DialogueSystem and Corgi, help needed

Post by Tony Li »

By "in game" do you mean your own scene? If so, try setting up a basic interaction using only Corgi. Once you've confirmed that your player can interact with things using Corgi's interaction system, add a ConversationZone to interact with.
TangledRays
Posts: 42
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2019 5:48 pm

Re: Using ArticyDraft/DialogueSystem and Corgi, help needed

Post by TangledRays »

Yes I mean in my scene. I tried replacing the corgi demo conversation and actor with my Articy one (Dialogue System imported) and it did the same thing. If you choose cannot jump whilst activating you can see it's reacting, but the conversation isn't appearing. I also located the conversation zone at the other end of the level from the character I had attached it to, that didn't help! :?
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 22056
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Using ArticyDraft/DialogueSystem and Corgi, help needed

Post by Tony Li »

Please try it without articy first. The fewer new variables you introduce, the easier it will be to find the issue.

If you haven't already taken care of it, make sure the conversation zone is positioned on top of the NPC.

Compare your NPC's ConversationZone with the Dude-DS1's in the example scene. Here's a screenshot for reference:
corgiConversationZone.png
corgiConversationZone.png (44.52 KiB) Viewed 1034 times
When you play, make sure the button prompt (A) appears when the player enters the ConversationZone.

Also check that the NPC has a Dialogue System Trigger set to OnUse, with a 'Start Conversation' action.

It might help to temporarily set the Dialogue Manager's Debug Level to Info. When you activate the Conversation, check the Console window for a line like this:

Dialogue System: Starting conversation 'AAA' with actor=BBB and conversant=CCC.

If you see that line -- and you don't see "Dialogue System: Conversation ending." shortly after -- then in the Scene view check the NPC's ConversationZone > CorgiStandardDialogueControls > Panel. Is this panel visible? Deeper in its hierarchy is a GameObject named 'Subtitle Line'. Does Subtitle Line have the conversation text that you would expect?
Post Reply