No script asset for ConversationTrack.

Announcements, support questions, and discussion for the Dialogue System.
Post Reply
ava
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2018 2:53 pm

No script asset for ConversationTrack.

Post by ava »

Hi,

I have a problem that I cannot fix: when I add a conversationtrack to a timeline, I get this warning:

"No script asset for ConversationTrack. Check that the definition is in a file of the same name."

I can however add a startconversationclip, but that gives me this warning:

No script asset for StartConversationClip. Check that the definition is in a file of the same name.

That clip is not useable.

Any idea what I'm doing wrong?

Thx!
Alex
User avatar
nathanj
Posts: 303
Joined: Sat May 28, 2016 12:30 am

Re: No script asset for ConversationTrack.

Post by nathanj »

I get this issue with all the timeline associated scripts in our main build - doesn’t happen in any other build and I can’t figure fire out why.

Check if the other timeline plugins work or not. I’m guessing they won’t.

The only solution I could find was to comment out all the “#If Using Unity 2017.3+....” lines at the top and the end line (#end if) for all timeline related scripts - including timelineTrigger.cs The syntax of my example is horrible but I’m away from my computer. I’ll check back in the morning and post a proper example if your still stuck.

Hope this makes sense.
Nathan
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 22057
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: No script asset for ConversationTrack.

Post by Tony Li »

It's a known bug in certain versions of Unity 2017 and 2018. The bug is slated to be fixed in the release version of 2018.3.

Can you update to Dialogue System version 2.0.7 or higher?

In Dialogue System versions 2.0.6 and earlier, the top line of the timeline scripts was:

Code: Select all

#if UNITY_2017_1_OR_NEWER && !(UNITY_2017_3 && UNITY_WSA)
This was to address another bug in Unity 2017.3 and Windows Store apps. However, the first bug mentioned above prevents Timeline from being able to parse that line in some Unity versions.

In Dialogue System version 2.0.7, the line was changed to:

Code: Select all

#if UNITY_2017_1_OR_NEWER
and Timeline just won't work in Unity 2017.3 builds for Windows Store apps. But all Unity versions should be able to parse the line.
ava
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2018 2:53 pm

Re: No script asset for ConversationTrack.

Post by ava »

Ok, updating to the latest version did help indeed.

Thanks!
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 22057
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: No script asset for ConversationTrack.

Post by Tony Li »

Glad to help!
Post Reply