[HOWTO] How To: Bypass Response Menu When Player Has One Choice

Announcements, support questions, and discussion for the Dialogue System.
Post Reply
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 20600
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

[HOWTO] How To: Bypass Response Menu When Player Has One Choice

Post by Tony Li »

By default, whenever a conversation gets to an actor whose Is Player checkbox is ticked (i.e., the player), it shows a response menu. The player is required to click a response button, even if the menu only has one button.

If you want the conversation to bypass the menu and automatically play the response when there's only one, use these settings on your Dialogue Manager GameObject:
  • Subtitle Settings > Show PC Subtitles During Line: Tick
  • Input Settings > Always Force Response Menu: UNtick
  • Optional: Subtitle Settings > Skip PC Subtitle After Response Menu: If ticked, it will not show PC subtitles for lines that were selected from a response menu, since the player already saw the text in the response menu. However, you can untick this to show the response menu choice as a subtitle after the button is clicked. This is useful if your Menu Text is different from your Dialogue Text, or if your subtitle panel is configured to accumulate subtitle text.
skipResponseMenu.png
skipResponseMenu.png (71.19 KiB) Viewed 2197 times

Additional Notes:
  • The settings above work globally. You can override them for a specific conversation by inspecting the conversation's properties. (In the Dialogue Editor: Menu > Conversation Properties, or click blank canvas space.) Tick Override Display Settings.
  • You can also use markup tags to override the behavior for specific dialogue entry nodes:
    • [f] Forces a response menu to appear, even if there is only one node.
    • [auto] Forces a node to bypass the response menu. (This is the opposite of [f].)
mroshaw
Posts: 96
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2022 4:10 am

Re: [HOWTO] How To: Bypass Response Menu When Player Has One Choice

Post by mroshaw »

YES! As usual, you've hit the nail on the head first time! That's working exactly as I want it, THANK YOU!
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 20600
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: [HOWTO] How To: Bypass Response Menu When Player Has One Choice

Post by Tony Li »

Happy to help!
Post Reply